When you create a service, the default traffic policy is automatically created for you. This policy applies to the entire world.
The default traffic policy is similar to other traffic policies, with one important difference: you can edit it, but you cannot delete it.
The default policy applies to all locations that do not have a more specific traffic policy configured. If a more specific policy exists for a particular geolocation, that policy takes precedence over the default policy.
The default traffic policy can be Static, Dynamic, or Cost-Based. Configuring the default traffic policy is very similar to creating a new traffic policy.
To configure the default traffic policy:
- Navigate to your service.
- In the sidebar, under Traffic Steering, select Traffic Policies.
- Click the Edit icon for the Default traffic policy.
- Follow the wizard steps to configure the policy.